Mongol Derby Leaderboard - Day 9 - Monday 12th August

The race leaderboard at the end of Day 9:


1. Lara Prior-Palmer

2. Devan Horn

3. = Clare Twemlow & Kirsten Melis

5. Chloe Phillips-Harris

6. Mondi Kanyana – finished today

The following riders also crossed the finish line today but were carrying penalties, mostly for riding beyond the 8.30pm daily deadline. As these riders crossed the line on the evening of Day 8 and potentially have penalties up to 3 hours to be added to their time, it’s not possible to confirm their leaderboard positions just yet.

This is because the group of riders chasing them in are camped at Horse Station 24 tonight, and due to arrive early in the morning. It’s possible some of them will arrive without carrying a penalty and potentially leapfrog riders that have already crossed the line on the official final leaderboard.

We’ll post the positions tomorrow as soon as they’re confirmed.

Lynne Gilbert

Sandra Fretelliere

Anthony Ward Thomas

Dylan Delahunt

Alex Embiricos

Natacha Lazareff

Ivo Marloh

Horse Station 24

Inge Rall-Behm

Barbara Seele

Todd Cranny

Hannah Bronwin

Shelley Bates

CORRECTION: In previous leaderboard updates riders Ivo Marloh and Shelley Bates were marked as riding ‘hors concours’ due to accepting outside assistance. Race referees on the steppe have confirmed that both riders in fact incurred a penalty for accepting a lift forward of less than 40km for differing reasons and therefore served those penalties and are, and have always been, officially still in the race and the hunt for a leaderboard position. Race rules exist for this scenario and the 3 hour penalties have already been served. We apologise for the confusion and temporary error.

Retired from the field

James Johnston

Katy Vincent

Lynne Hamilton

Catriona Paterson

Georgina Johnston

Tamara Hudleston

Mattias Lochthofen

Lydia Wood

Alison Wilson

Paddy Woods

Adam Pearlman

Tom Burk